Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Flying Over Sunset

Lincoln Center, NY


Musical day tripping with Aldous Huxley, Cary Grant and Clare Boothe Luce

Set in 1950s Hollywood, ‘Flying Over Sunset’ is a work of fiction inspired by the lives of three celebrities all of whom experimented with LSD. The movie star Cary Grant, playwright turned conservative politician Clare Boothe Luce and author and intellectual Aldous Huxley try acid for the first time separately. In the second act, they take their trip together in a beach house in Malibu under the guidance of historian and science writer Gerald Heard.

This new musical takes the audience on an all-dancing, all-singing journey of the human psyche through the exploration of these three extraordinary individuals’ innermost fears, desires, hopes, and dreams.

‘Flying Over Sunset’ was written and directed by Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award winner James Lapine. Debuting at the Lincoln Centre Theatre in November 2021, the show ran until mid-January 2022.

59 Productions created the video and projection design alongside award-winning Beowulf Boritt’s set design and have recently won the Drama Desk Award for ‘Outstanding Projection Design’ on the show. Both 59 and Beowulf have been nominated for a Tony Award in the Best Scenic Design category for their work on ‘Flying Over Sunset’.


2022 Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Projection Design 


2022 Tony Awards for Best Scenic Design of a Musical (Beowulf Boritt and 59 Productions)


2021/2022 Outer Critics Circle for Outstanding Video/Projection Design (Play or Musical)


2022 Henry Hewes Design Awards for Media Designer

Opened November 2021

Lincoln Center Theatre, New York

Production Photographs


Director & Writer
James Lapine

Tom Kitt

Michael Korie

Michelle Dorrance

Music Director
Kimberly Grigsby

Set Design
Beowulf Boritt

Toni-Leslie James

Bradley King

Sound Design
Dan Moses Schreier

59 Productions

Michael Starobin

The Telsey Office

Production Stage Manager
Rick Steiger

59 Team

Projection Director
Benjamin Pearcy

Video Designer
Nick Corrigan

Associate Video Designer
Brad Peterson

Assistant Video Designers
Dale Croft
Jamie McCombe
Sam Molitoriss
Lorna Pittaway
Simran Phull

Adam Smith
Edd Stockton
Laurent De Vleeschouwer
Lawrence Watson